The quiet observer

I surveyed the preschool cubbies, yup . . . every cubby except my daughter’s was filled with art.   Every single day.  For two years.  And the interesting thing was that when I asked, she said she liked to watch.  Really?  I didn’t understand at all.

It irked me.  I felt like a failure.  Then one day, I happened to see Dr. Marti Olsen Laney as I was flipping through the channels.  She described the introverted child as an observer.  I had to pause to hear more.  She talked about introvert’s preference to observe first and join later, if they joined at all.

Of course, I immediately ordered her book, The Hidden Gifts of the Introverted Child.  It changed my life.  Understanding my daughter as unique in her own personality type changed my irritation to understanding.  I can’t thank Dr. Laney enough for the research she’s done.

Even now, my daughter has to observe.  She does participate but she needs the time.  It’s not how I am – jumping in to change and new experiences.  But it doesn’t mean it’s wrong.

Explore posts in the same categories: Introverts

Tags: , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a Reply

