She prefers to read . . . I’m so proud

This morning at the bus stop, my six year old sat down on the ground, and pulled out a book from her backpack.   She read until the bus arrived.  Her friend, wanting to play,  looked puzzled.  Her friends mom looked awe-struck.  “Look,” she pointed.  “Yes, I know,” I replied – as if I knew she’d be doing that all along.  “Can you believe it?”

I have dreamed of this moment.  To me, her choosing a book over playing, is huge.  SHE IS A READER!!!!  SHE LOVES HER BOOK!!!!!

I don’t want her to stop, so I say nothing.  Smile and nod.  Act cool.  Don’t freak out and try to hug her while crying hysterically about the wonders of losing oneself in a story and lifelong learning and . . . oh, I could go on.  No.  Smile and nod.  Act cool.

I am happy.  I am ecstatic.  SHE’S A READER!!!!

Explore posts in the same categories: Books, Introverts, parenting

Tags: , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a Reply

